Reply
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

New sim not working in phone

my son lost his phone. He got a new sim card, activated in shop, but it will not work in a Sony ericsson Experia ray. This was my phone-which I just couldn't get used to, so my son got me a different phone and had Used it before. He has been in contact with O2 but no joy-they say it could be a problem with android phones. The sim works in other phones-can someone please help.
Posted from Apple iPad
Please use plain text.
O2_Lisa
Posts: 28,024
Topics: 83
Kudos: 11,025
Solutions: 1,172
Registered: ‎20-10-2010

Re: New sim not working in pho

Hi Crafty,
Is the phone he is using now an O2 phone?
Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

Yes the phone is an O2 phone
Posted from Apple iPad
Please use plain text.
O2_Lisa
Posts: 28,024
Topics: 83
Kudos: 11,025
Solutions: 1,172
Registered: ‎20-10-2010

Re: New sim not working in pho

Can you pm the sim card number and the mobile number you are referring too and I will take a look at the account.
Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

[ Edited ]

Sim card number 89353020xxxxxxxxx and his mobile number is 086xxxxxxx

Please use plain text.
O2_Lisa
Posts: 28,024
Topics: 83
Kudos: 11,025
Solutions: 1,172
Registered: ‎20-10-2010

Re: New sim not working in pho

That sim card is activated to his number, when he puts the sim card in his phone what error does he get?
Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

Comes up no sim card inserted and when I try to connect to network it says not allowed
Posted from Apple iPad
Please use plain text.
O2_Lisa
Posts: 28,024
Topics: 83
Kudos: 11,025
Solutions: 1,172
Registered: ‎20-10-2010

Re: New sim not working in pho

Unfortunately Crafty, you will have to go back to the Store and try another sim card in it. Have you another O2 phone in the house to try that sim card in the phone?
Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

Yes the sim card works in another phone
Posted from Apple iPad
Please use plain text.
O2_Daryll
Posts: 34,994
Topics: 584
Kudos: 8,781
Solutions: 1,032
Registered: ‎23-04-2008

Re: New sim not working in pho

Are you sure you put the sim card in the right slot?

I have seen people put it into the memory card slot before.
New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

I tried my own working sim in the phone this morning and it comes up sim does not allow a connection to this network ie. The O2 network
Posted from Apple iPad
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleMc
Posts: 9,256
Topics: 19
Kudos: 4,566
Solutions: 438
Registered: ‎29-07-2010

Re: New sim not working in pho

ok there is nothing else we can try then to test it, you will need to take the phone to an o2 store and get them to check it

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

My son took phone to o2shop and was told there was a block on the phone and to contact O2. How can I get the phone working again?.
Posted from Apple iPad
Please use plain text.
O2_Daryll
Posts: 34,994
Topics: 584
Kudos: 8,781
Solutions: 1,032
Registered: ‎23-04-2008

Re: New sim not working in pho

Have you ever reported this phone lost or stolen?

Can you PM the number connected to it?
New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

[ Edited ]

The number to which the phone belonged to is **bleep**

Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

Sorry-no, the phone was never reported lost or stolen.
Posted from Apple iPad
Please use plain text.
O2_Sheena
Posts: 15,082
Topics: 131
Kudos: 7,313
Solutions: 1,331
Registered: ‎07-04-2010

Re: New sim not working in pho

You did report this phone to be lost or stolen on 14/12/2011?
Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

No, I lost my phone in December and this is the replacement phone I got.
Posted from Apple iPad
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: New sim not working in pho

Can you check the imei of that phone and PM it to me so I can check if it has been blocked or not on our side?
Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

I am not near the phone at the moment, but I did pm it in an earlier post with my sons mobile number
Posted from Apple iPad
Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

[ Edited ]

Imei number is 3XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: New sim not working in pho

I've checked that with our technical team and they have advised it does show as blacklisted here. 

 

to get it whitelisted and back working what we will need is proof of purchase of the phone from you.

Please use plain text.
Bronze Contributor
Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: New sim not working in pho

It was sent to me by the insurance company-I had my old phone insured through O2. When or why was it blacklisted?
Posted from Apple iPad
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: New sim not working in pho

As it's not attached to any number with us, I have no record of when that was done or by which network. To whitelist it in this case we would need to have a confirmation from the insurance company, Phonecover advising on the replacement and showing the IMEI.
Please use plain text.