Reply
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Speed test

Test Date: Mar 16, 2012 16:30
Connection Type: Cellular
Server: Dublin
Download: 0.10 Mbps
Upload: 0.08 Mbps
Ping: 1237 ms

That's not good at all for edge coverage in Dublin :-( I just thought I'd check cos my phone is downloading soooo slow for a while and even on 3G coverage I'm getting not so great results.
What could be causing it?
My 3G speed test is on another post on here...
Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: Speed test

Can you try setting it to 3G coverage only and testing it?
Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

Test Date: Mar 16, 2012 17:14
Connection Type: Cellular
Server: Dublin
Download: 1.49 Mbps
Upload: 1.24 Mbps
Ping: 168 ms

My 3G is always on, I've an iPhone but it constantly changes from 3G to edge and then back... Gets very slow. I don't like complaining but it's so so slow a lot of the time. I'm beginning to think the iPhone 4s isn't very good cos I never had a problem with my 3GS iPhone.
Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: Speed test

Can you set it to get the 3G only? those speeds are good for 3g on your phone.
Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

How do I do that on the iPhone I have 3G enabled on it? But doesn't have the option of 3G only.. It flicks constantly back and forth to 3g and edge. And the speed test for edge is how bad my speed does be most of the time. To the point I have to use wifi a good bit. Which I shouldn't really have to do.
Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: Speed test

I've checked on Apple's website, it seems they don't allow exclusively setting it to 3G only. We wouldn't have any way to do that via the network here, it would have to be a setting on the phone.
Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

So it's just gonna keep doing what it's doing? :-( lucky I have unlimited data cos it takes me ages to download anything. My old phone downloaded real quick, this 1 takes ages. I'm beginning to think there's something wrong with the 4s. I only upgraded cos it said it'd be the fasted iPhone.. Nope... Worked out slower :-(
Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: Speed test

You could test the sim in another phone to see if it's switching from 2G - 3G on that also, if there's any issues with the iphone itself you could drop in store and have it checked out.
Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

But then it'll be sent away and i have alot of stuff on it..... mostly pics and video of my little girl. I was told by daryll to try a total reset of the phone, but i seen another user on here with the same problem as me and even on a replacement phone he got. So i'm wary of going through a total reset of the phone when it could end up the same as it is now, The sim card is new, got it the same time as the phone. Daryll did say tho that the sim prob wouldn't be the problem with all the problems i'm getting. I did want a sim posted out to me to see if that was why i was experiencing all the dropping of the network and bad coverage, slow internet speeds too and downloads.

Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: Speed test

Was a sim posted out to you?

you can backup all your data on your phone on itunes before attemtping any reset / restore.
Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

no never got a sim posted out  cos i was told it probably wouldn't make much of a difference and more than likely i'd see a difference if i reset the phone.

 

i'm gonna try a reset, have my phone backing up right now...

 

This is gonna be a fun night with a narky 6 month old! :-p

Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: Speed test

If you want to try that for us and then let me know if it improves things. We can certainly try the sim replacement if this does not make a different for you.

Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

Thanks very much, will post back once i finish.... it'll prob take me hours! haaa! but i'll get it done and let you know.

Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: Speed test

Hopefully it won't take too long :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

i have a problem now :-(

It wont let me sync my apps, or go any further cos it gives an error message, unable to sync apps to the iphone because the apps installed on the iphone could not be determined!! Never happened before and i've all the updates :-(

 

This isn't gonna be straight forward! Any ideas what i can do??

Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: Speed test

It looks like others have had the issues too.

There's a thread on Apple's support forums here - https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3395256?start=0&tstart=0
Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

thanks for that think i'm back on track.... i unplugged and plugged back in and think its gonna do it all for me now.

 

I hope now it works! :catfrustrated:

Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_MichelleF
Posts: 3,222
Kudos: 1,500
Solutions: 148
Registered: ‎20-08-2010

Re: Speed test

fingers crossed here too, please keep us updated
Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

Test Date: Mar 17, 2012 12:19
Connection Type: Wifi
Server: Dublin
Download: 0.07 Mbps
Upload: 0.02 Mbps
Ping: 3627 ms

Still the same after a 6 hr back up and restore of my phone! And that's how bad it gets even connected to wifi. Did 1 without and still bad.
Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_Lisa
Posts: 28,024
Topics: 83
Kudos: 11,029
Solutions: 1,172
Registered: ‎20-10-2010

Re: Speed test

Thanks nicolad, those speeds are not good as you know. The next step for us is to send this to our technicians to investigate. Can you advise your exact location for that test,thanks.
Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

I'm northside of Dublin, raheny area.. Thanks for that..
Will you let me know if you find anything?
Nikki x
Please use plain text.
Platinum Expert
Bj2011
Posts: 6,488
Registered: ‎16-10-2010

Re: Speed test

But those speeds were on wifi which is not network related.
Please use plain text.
O2_Lisa
Posts: 28,024
Topics: 83
Kudos: 11,029
Solutions: 1,172
Registered: ‎20-10-2010

Re: Speed test

Thanks Nicola, I have now sent it to our technicians for updates come back to this thread, it takes 5 days to investigate.The reference is 1397340.
Please use plain text.
Bronze Expert
Nikki2908
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎05-02-2009

Re: Speed test

I had up the top a test while I was without wifi and it works out bad too...

Can I ask a quick question too, when I start up my phone it searches for the network for a bit... My other phones never did this. Just incase that might have anything to do with it. That's why I thought it could be sim related?
Nikki x
Please use plain text.
O2_Lisa
Posts: 28,024
Topics: 83
Kudos: 11,029
Solutions: 1,172
Registered: ‎20-10-2010

Re: Speed test

It can happen, as in searching can you advise what happens?
Please use plain text.